Picture this… You met someone a few weeks ago whom you find attractive, he has taken you out on a few dates and has invited you to his home a couple times. On this particular visit to his home, he decides to pour you a glass of wine, dim the lights and put on a movie. You are lying on his couch with your feet in his lap and he is gently rubbing your feet through a blanket. You are extremely attracted to his personality and good looks. You’re curious about what else he has to offer but your still getting to know him and don’t want to rush anything although everything inside of you is telling you to go for it. Do you make him wait to see what his intentions are, or do you give it up to satisfy your curiosity?

 So….How Soon Is Too Soon?

I have been asked this question by my friends and as a single woman who frequently dates I have also asked myself this question when it comes to having intimate relations with a new person.   This is a hard question to answer because in my opinion there is no correct answer. I think it depends on the people, the situation and your desired outcome. If you are looking at this man as someone who you could have a possible future with than you want him to respect you which means you should probably hold off. If you have no desired outcome and want to casually date than your expectations will not be as high.

‘Think Like A Man' has proven itself to be a Box Office hit raking in $33Million in its opening week. In the movie they touch on the infamous 90 Day Rule. The 90 Day Rule basically says that a woman should make a man wait 90 days before having sex. I have done this and was extremely disappointed that I waited 3 months, got to know him and the sex was wack. I felt as if my time was wasted because realistically I wasn’t going to be in a relationship with someone who could not please me and he didn’t want to just be friends. So is waiting 90 days a smart move? On the flip side, if you give it up too quickly then you’re looked at as easy and gossiped about. This is where the double standard comes into play. A man sleeping around with several women will get a pat on his back from his boys whereas a woman enjoying her single life is gossiped about endlessly. Even more amazing is the guy who sleeps with such a woman and labels her a hoe the next day while he acted in the same manner as she did. So the question is…To Wait or Not To Wait?

Until Next Time,
Niccole
Dee
8/23/2013 06:16:00 am

OMG great topic, Im not currently single but i love hearing and vicariously living through my single friends lives and relationships. If i were single, then i would probably not only keep my mind open but my legs too, whats the harm in testing out the water, keep ya standards high but test things out when the moment is right, as long as its not every Tom dick and Harry. 90 days is a waste of time to be let down. Everyone knows that dating is a game and only the strongest survive.

Reply
Ksen84
8/23/2013 06:16:24 am

I see it as, if you are a mature adult why not just do it when you are comfortable to do so. I can’t imagine waiting 90 days just to see if he can work it the right way. I’m not saying just go out and have sex with every Tom, Dick and Harry, but we def need to find out sooner than 90 days if this guy is even worth staying with. My rule of thumb if he can’t please you then I can’t fool with you!!! POINT BLANK!!!

Reply
SKG13
8/25/2013 11:13:08 am

Great topic. And Very interesting....

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.